What is The United States Department Of Justice (DOJ)?

The Federal Ministry responsible for administering law and law enforcement and administering the federal justice system in the United States federal government is The United States Department of Justice. It is also their responsibility to seek appropriate punishments for criminals who intend to harm American citizens' safety. The Department of Justice provides crime prevention by federal leadership in home control, seeking fair penalties for those guilty of illegal behavior.

The Ministry was established on July 1, 1870. They represent the federal government in legal proceedings and courts. The minister nominated by the president takes office with the approval of the Senate. The United States Attorney General presides over the DOJ with more than 100,000 lawyers, special agents, and other workers. It represents the United States in federal criminal and civil cases and provides legal advice to the President and the Cabinet. There is an appointed U.S. Attorney for each of the 93 federal jurisdictions in the U.S. - they act as the U.S.'s main claimants under the Attorney General's direction. The broad majority of federal cases are examined and handled by U.S. Attorneys across the United States.

There are many subject areas, initiatives, and programs run by the Ministry of Justice. Some of these; Human Trafficking, is Intellectual Property Task Force, Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Forces.

The DOJ collaborates with many institutions to enforce and enforce the law.  DOJ; deals with financial crimes such as bank robbery, kidnapping, money laundering, bribery, and corruption.

For more information on U.S. Money Laundering, you can review the United States AML Guide, read our blog posts or contact us directly.

You Might Also Like